Contact Planning Division Staff

General Questions:

For general questions related to planning, zoning, and application filing, contact the Public Counter by email at Plan.Counter@ventura.org or by calling one of the phone numbers listed below. When calling or emailing, please have the property’s Assessor Parcel Number (APN) or address ready and provide a brief description of the information you’re seeking.

Planning and Zoning Information: Office Hours: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

(805) 654-2488 or (805) 654-2451

Discretionary Permit Coordinator: To submit a Conditional Use Permit, Planned Development Permit, Subdivision Application, or other Discretionary Permit Applications contact Winston Wright for an appointment at (805) 654-2468.

Ayuda en Español: (805) 654-2451

Planning Office Fax: (805) 654-2509

More information on the public counter services in the Planning Division can be found here.




To Contact Us Regarding:

Application Submittal Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2451
Building Permits
(Ventura Office)
Building and Safety 654-2771
Building Permits
(East County)
Building and Safety 582-8064
Business License Tax Collector 654-2653
Census/Demographic Data Planning Division  
Code Enforcement Complaints Code Compliance
Email: code.enforcement@ventura.org
654-2788
Condition Compliance Planning Division
Email: Jessica.Magana@ventura.org
654-2457
Conditional Certificates of Compliance Planning Division
Email: Winston.Wright@ventura.org
654-2468
Conditional Use Permits Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Demolition Permits Building and Safety 654-2771
Development Review Committee Planning Division
Email: Winston.Wright@ventura.org
654-2468
Encroachment Permits Public Works Agency 654-2077
Film Permits Planning Division
Email: film.permits@ventura.org
654-2406
Flood Zone Information Watershed Protection District 654-2001
General Plan Amendments Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
GIS Mapping Requests GIS Division
Email: Jose.Moreno@ventura.org
654-3624
Historic Preservation/Cultural Heritage Board Planning Division
Email: Nicole.Doner@ventura.org
654-5042
Home Occupation Permits (Home Business) Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Housing Programs
(General Plan Related only)
Planning Division 654-2495
Lake Sherwood Development Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Land Conservation Act Contracts (LCA) Planning Division
Email: Justin.Bertoline@ventura.org
654-2466
Lot Line Adjustments Planning Division
Email: Winston.Wright@ventura.org
654-2468
Mining Reclamation
(SMARA)
Planning Division
Email: Brian.Baca@ventura.org
654-5192
Mobile Home Park Rent Review Board Planning Division
Email: Franca.Rosengren@ventura.org
654-2045
Oil & Gas Program/Sand and Gravel Quarries Planning Division
Email: Bonnie.Luke@ventura.org
654-5193
Parcel Map Waivers Planning Division
Email: Winston.Wright@ventura.org
654-2468
Patio Covers Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Planned Development Permits Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Residential Additions Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2451
Second Dwelling Units/Granny Flats Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Septic Tanks Environmental Health Division 654-2813
Setback Regulations Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Sign Permits Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2451
Solar Panel Permits Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Subdivisions Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Surveys County Surveyor
Email: countysurveyor@ventura.org
654-2068
Tree Permits Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2451
Variances Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
Zoning Information Planning Public Counter
Email: Plan.Counter@ventura.org
654-2488
 



Additional Resources:

Staff Phone and Email Directory

Planning Division Organizational Chart

Public Brochures and Frequently Requested Information

Recently Approved and Pending Projects List - Updated monthly, this map and accompanying list show the discretionary projects approved by the Planning Division in the last six months and projects currently in process.

Public Hearing Agendas - Agendas and staff reports for Planning Commission, Cultural Heritage Board, and Mobile Home Park Rent Review Board hearings.

One-Stop Permitting Website - This website provides both an overview of the County development process and step-by-step guidance to individuals seeking land use permits for residential, commercial, and industrial development projects of subdivisions within unincorporated Ventura County.

What's My Zoning? - This tool identifies the zoning designation for parcels located within the unincorporated areas of Ventura County.

County View Interactive Map - This free online GIS map includes a variety of datalayers available to the public including aerial photographs, zoning information, assessor parcel numbers, jurisdictional boundaries, and general plan designations. Start your search by typing in an address.

Citizen Access - This online permitting database provides real-time, direct access to all Planning permits that are in process or have already been issued. Information on permits issued by other county departments is also available on this system.




Still Need Help?

Please contact a member of the Planning Division administrative staff:

Anna Hall, Management Assistant: 654-2478

Email: Anna.Hall@ventura.org



Planning Division Management Team:


Kimberly Prillhart, Planning Director: 654-2481

Email: Kim.Prillhart@ventura.org


Winston Wright, Discretionary Permit Coordinator: 654-2468

Email: Winston.Wright@ventura.org


Jennifer Welch, Interim Residential Permits Manager: 654-2465

Email: Jennifer.Welch@ventura.org


Brian Baca, Commercial/Industrial Permits Manager: 654-5192

Email: Brian.Baca@ventura.org

Susan Curtis, General Plan Update Manager: 654-2497

Email: Susan.Curtis@ventura.org


Denice Thomas, Planning Programs Manager: 654-2685

Email: Denice.Thomas@ventura.org


Tricia Maier, Long Range Planning Manager: 654-2464

Email: Tricia.Maier@ventura.org




Office Location:

Ventura County Government Center
Administration Building - 3rd Floor
800 S. Victoria Avenue
Ventura, CA 93009

Planning Division Mailing Address:

County of Ventura
Resource Management Agency
Planning Division
800 S. Victoria Avenue #1740
Ventura, CA 93009-1740



View Larger Map